The Great Cell Debate

October 23, 2009

I am prompted to write by this tweet from @gassho The Cell Refuseniks, an Ever-Shrinking Club – http://bit.ly/2s9c5w

In the article people were said to equate having a cell phone to a lack of privacy. Who gave everyone that idea? Just because we see people at the beck and call of their cell phones does NOT mean privacy isn’t possible. NEWS FLASH! Cell phones have an off button. They also have this cool feature that turns off the ring tone even if the phone is on! Gosh – who knew!

I got rid of my land line years ago. My cell phone gives me all the bells and whistles I had to pay extra for on my land line and it’s easier to turn off. I can keep it with me all the time for emergencies but don’t have it turned on much. My life sort of requires quiet. People can leave a message! Gosh – who knew.

Another reason people are cell resistant is they see so many people who can’t interact with the people they are physically with because their phone is taking center stage. It makes people angry to see so many people who are unwilling or unable to be where they are, doing what they are doing with who they are with. Hey, nothing new with that – now it is just easier to spot. If it makes you angry, while you are busy being angry with all those other people, you aren’t where you are, doing what you are doing with who you are with either.

So all together what I am saying is – tough love here – If you can’t handle the whole cell phone thing – you have issues that have nothing to do with cell phones. You may want to take a look at that. Or not.

2 Responses to “The Great Cell Debate”

  1. Belle Says:

    Bravo!!!! You hit the nail on the head! Byron Katie has a saying:

    “There’s only three kinds of business – God’s, yours, and mine.

    Whose business is it if an earthquake happens? God’s business.

    Whose business is it if your neighbor down the street has an ugly lawn [or a cell phone]? Your neighbor’s business.

    Whose business is it if you are angry at your neighbor down the street because he has an ugly lawn? Your business.

    Life is simple—it is internal.

    Count, in five minute intervals, how many times you are in someone else’s business mentally. Notice when you give uninvited advice or offer your opinion about something (aloud or silently).

    Ask yourself: “Am I in their business? Did they ask me for my advice?” And more importantly, “Can I take the advice I am offering and apply it to my life?”

    So… yes! When I find myself in other people’s business (too often!) I try to remember this important distinctin. Oh, and the ever powerful: Who would I be without this story?

    Great post, Trish!

    • Trish Scott Says:

      Ha – I love your finding big points in little stories. Funny – I have a seriously OCD neighbor. He came to me when I first moved in and asked me to sign a petition to have the city force a neighbor to clean up his property. I said, “I really don’t care what other people do with their own property” and he said, “I DO!” And I just felt so bad for the poor man who is simply incapable of letting it go.


Leave a Reply

