*Overcoming Fear

October 13, 2007

Fear feeds fear. When you feel it coming on, even just the slightest twinge — a catch in your breath, a twist in your gut, whatever your first sign of fear is, STOP!!! Yell STOP!!! And stop. Then replace the fear with the wholeness and balance of all that is. Picture this in what ever way works for you but if you are needing a starting point The God Flush is an example of the kind of thinking which may help as a replacement for fear thoughts.

Once you begin to become aware of the first twinges of fear and STOP, not allowing yourself to be seduced by it (yes folks we do love a bit of a wallow) you will start to master your life. It is really like giving up any bad habit — stop doing the habitual behavior and replace it with another preferred behavior.

Of course it also helps to know that the energy that is you, like any energy, can not be destroyed – transformed yes – but not destroyed. It is true that there is nothing to fear but fear itself. If you can’t actually believe that today, pretend. Pretending properly can take you a long, long way. Just Whistle a Happy Tune ain’t just whistlin Dixie :).

5 Responses to “*Overcoming Fear”

  1. Trish Scott Says:

    Hi Trish
    I was just searching for other Trish Scotts and came across your website. I trained as a Life Coach a few years ago after surviving breast cancer and have also started Reiki training and am learning about crystal healing. It was amazing to find another Trish Scott who was interested in the same things as me!
    My problem is that I keep losing track of what I want to do and where I want to go so although I have learned a lot over the past few years, I have let myself become distracted from my spiritual path by external forces – forces I find difficult to ignore as a mother and wife!!
    I’ll try and keep in touch with your inspirational posts to see if that will help me find myself again.
    best wishes,
    Trish Scott (Sagitarrius)

  2. Trish Scott Says:

    What a riot! Did you see my post *Goggle Your Name – plan a party? I just did the first page of names but it could be a BIG party!

    https://scottfree2b.wordpress.com/2007/09/08/goggle-your-name-plan-a-party/

    And while I am a Libra I have Sag rising and 7 planets and one asteroid in Sagittarius so Sag is a big influence. Small world for us Trish Scott’s :). Thanks for leaving a message. Stay in touch.

  3. Donovan Greene Says:

    Aversion to fear is not the answer. There’s nothing wrong with being afraid, or having feeling of fear. We only run into error when we allow our mind to identify as those feelings or to try and fight them. Those feelings are totally natural. The most effective response to to simply accept them and watch them carefully. I’ve been reading a book by J. Krishnamurti lately where he talks about this idea quite a lot. He essentially seems to be saying that the trick is “not to mind what happens.” Allow fear to pass through you instead of putting up imaginary walls to keep it in or out. Acknowledge it and simply say, “That is not me, this is not who I am, it is just a feeling and it too shall pass.”

  4. Trish Scott Says:

    You make an excellent point. You paraphrase Krishnamurti, an actual quote is, “Do you want to know my secret? I don’t mind what happens.” and that comes from a fearless stance. I am simply giving a way I have found to work, in myself and others, of coming to a fearless stance within ones self. Another very effective way is as you say, “to simply accept them and watch them carefully.” Thanks for your excellent comment.

  5. serendipidad Says:

    “There are three monks, who had been sitting in deep meditation for many years amidst the Himalayan snow peaks, never speaking a word, in utter silence. One morning, one of the three suddenly speaks up and says, ‘What a lovely morning this is.’ And he falls silent again. Five years of silence pass, when all at once the second monk speaks up and says, ‘But we could do with some rain.’ There is silence among them for another five years, when suddenly the third monk says, ‘Why can’t you two stop chattering?”

    http://www.katinkahesselink.net/kr/jokes.html
    http://picasaweb.google.com/serendipidad0/FotosDeJidduKrishnamurti#


Leave a Reply

