*Mister Rogers Raises 20 Million $$$ in 6 Minutes

August 25, 2007

A wonderful illustration of You Don’t Have To Be Good Just Be Real

Background: 1969, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting
(CPB) was in danger of getting their funding cut in half by
Nixon because of war costs.

So the CPB calls in Mr. Rogers to testify before the Senate.

He delivers an emotional 6-minute pitch. Watch the effect he
has on John O. Pastore, notoriously gruff and impatient.

4 Responses to “*Mister Rogers Raises 20 Million $$$ in 6 Minutes”

  1. Linda Says:

    that is really cool! You know that guy’s now a big fan. 🙂
    I haven’t seen the show in years, but for the past 2 days I’ve had that song in my head. “It’s such a good feeling to know you’re alive, it’s such a happy feeling growing inside…” That’s what made me click on the Mister Rogers link.

  2. Trish Scott Says:

    I’m glad you liked this Linda. Yes it is really cool. I’m blown away by the power of heart to heart talk that is demonstrated here. I think it sort of puts the heavy hitters in their power suits and power ties to shame.

  3. Trish Scott Says:

    Now I see that we are no longer able to watch this wonderful video! I have done a search and come up with the same message everywhere. If anyone finds it I would love it if you would let me know. This makes my conspiracy theory hairs stand on end.


Leave a Reply

