*A Krishnamurti Story

July 26, 2007

“Do you want to know what my secret is?”

©Jim Dreaver, 2005

Release Attachment To Outcomes

A fear that many people have is that if they don’t hold tightly to their goals and dreams and think about them all day long, they won’t accomplish them. Yet it is the very attachment to outcomes, to getting a specific result, that sets the stage for anxiety, the fear that you won’t achieve what you want. As you learn to release the attachment, new creative energies—as well as feelings of courage and confidence—spring forth, and actually move you closer to your objectives.

Worrying about the future is one of the main causes of stress in our lives. It is a habit that just perpetuates fear, the uncomfortable feeling that we aren’t enough as we are. It keeps us stuck in the belief that such-and-such must happen if we are going to be happy, and that if it doesn’t, our lives will be miserable.

There’s a story about J. Krishnamurti that speaks reams about what it means to be free of this limiting, fear-based pattern of thinking. Every spring he used to give talks in a beautiful oak grove in Ojai, in southern California. He had been speaking there for over sixty years. On this particular occasion when I went to hear him, in the late nineteen-seventies, there must have been close to two thousand people in attendance, sitting on the grass, or in their folding chairs.

It was always an extraordinary experience, hearing Krishnamurti in person. Aldous Huxley, who was a friend of Krishnamurti’s, described it as: “Like listening to a discourse of the Buddha—such authority, such intrinsic power.”

Part way through this particular talk, Krishnamurti suddenly paused, leaned forward, and said, almost conspiratorially, “Do you want to know what my secret is?” Almost as though we were one body we sat up, even more alert than we had been, if that was possible. I could see people all around me lean forward, their ears straining and their mouths slowly opening in hushed anticipation.

Krishnamurti rarely ever talked about himself or his own process, and now he was about to give us his secret! He was in many ways a mountaintop teacher—somewhat distant, aloof, seemingly unapproachable, unless you were part of his inner circle. Yet that’s why we came to Ojai every spring, to see if we could find out just what his secret was. We wanted to know how he managed to be so aware and enlightened, while we struggled with conflict and our numerous problems.

There was a silence. Then he said in a soft, almost shy voice, “You see, I don’t mind what happens.”

I don’t mind what happens. That is the essence of inner freedom. It is a timeless spiritual truth: release attachment to outcomes, and—deep inside yourself—you’ll feel good no matter what. You’ll feel good because you are connected to, one with, the energy of the universe, the beauty and power of creation itself. Or, as Krishnamurti himself put it:

‘When you live with this awareness, this sensitivity, life has an astonishing way of taking care of you. Then there is no problem of security, of what people say or do not say, and that is the beauty of life.’

©Jim Dreaver, 2005

13 Responses to “*A Krishnamurti Story”

  1. WaterLearner Says:

    Your blog guides me to peaceful inner freedom.
    Thanks!

  2. Micky Says:

    SAVED BY GRACE
    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 2004, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages . God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & guilt, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].
    PS:Jiddu Krishnamurti, nearly sent me insane?
    PEACE BE WITH YOU
    MICKY

  3. Trish Scott Says:

    Hi Mickey. Thanks for sharing your story with us. To find the joy and gratitude you express you must be driven out of your mind and into your heart. That can be a painful process depending on how attached you are to controlling outcomes. I’m sure growing up in an orphanage made you fear annihilation in the event of loss of control, so I can only imagine the terror this process brought you. I am glad that you found your way back to the heart of God. Congratulations on your courageous journey. I am sure you are a light in the lives of many others.

  4. pino Says:

    Jiddu Krishnamurti ;

    “There are three monks, who had been sitting in deep meditation for many years amidst the Himalayan snow peaks, never speaking a word, in utter silence. One morning, one of the three suddenly speaks up and says, ‘What a lovely morning this is.’ And he falls silent again. Five years of silence pass, when all at once the second monk speaks up and says, ‘But we could do with some rain.’ There is silence among them for another five years, when suddenly the third monk says, ‘Why can’t you two stop chattering?”

    http://www.katinkahesselink.net/kr/jokes.html

    http://seaunaluzparaustedmismo.blogspot.com/

  5. Halijo Says:

    Indeed!
    Part of my journey of authenticity to the human being “I AM” includes creativity. I have learned not to attatch to the songs, poetry and journals I have writen. That only leads to sorrow. The outcome is not mine to behold. I am apart of this intricite life spiral. I dance in this form of the material world as well as inwardly, as a formless self. I share my creative abilities openly, no strings attatched.
    J. Krishnamurti’s lectures (talks) as transposed in writing, has fed my inner core. Helping me find the inner truth.
    Thanks for sharing your words and opening this blog.
    Halijo
    Namaste’

  6. Michael Says:

    …fear annihilation in the event of loss of control..

    Thanks Trish!

    God bless you
    Michael Gormley

  7. Howard Katz Says:

    I was very fortunate to see Krishnmurti in Saanen, Switzerland in the summer of 1970. It was 5 weeks of talks and discussions. In 1978 I found my self in the emergency room with a gun shot wound to my chest. Breathing was almost impossible. The bullet was still in me and felt like a iron that had been put in fire. The pain was indescribable. I remembered K’s words. “We suffer not because of what it, but because we resist what is”. And so I asked myself to be so attentive to the pain, that there was no space between me and it. At those moments when my attention could be so close to the sensation that the space disappeared, there was no pain and as soon as I started talking to myself about it, the pain was back in all its glory. This allowed me to see something quite special and to this day inspires me to move in the direction of a more choiceless watching of myself and my outer world.

    • Trish Scott Says:

      Wow! I have never experienced anything nearly that dramatic. I have learned that resistance to what is, is just plain painful. You were so fortunate to see Krishnmurti. He was the first that drew me in to his teachings – I guess I found his book/s in the late ’70’s – about the time you were putting his teachings to good use already. Thanks for dropping by and sharing this story. 🙂

  8. digraj Says:

    hi trish thanks a lot something within was troubling…n then through u got hold of this very important line uttered by j.k “i dont mind what happens’.beautiful.thanks once again.


  9. […] am reminded here of the lovely story of Krishnamurti (you can read it here) where he told his followers what his secret was.  If not being attached appeals to you, read […]


Leave a Reply

