*Best Friend Best Teacher Phase III

July 17, 2007

You Can’t Just Sit on Blowtorch Hands

When we got back home, Alfie of course had joined me through the whole adventure, I got back to google and typed in ‘energy healing’. I really didn’t think I could just stick out a shingle. What would it say. Thought it might be nice to say SOMETHING someone might be able to recognize/relate to. Probably a certificate for something resembling whatever it is I do would be a good thing. So the search began for the words to be able to say what I do. In the meantime the war with Iraq was starting. I aimed my hands everywhere. The energy just kept flowing and I didn’t know yet how to cope with it so I sent it to all the people starting wars. Couldn’t hurt. ‘Do no harm.’

In my Internet search I came upon the Universal Life Church. Good to be a minister someone had said. OK. So I became an ordained minister for legal reasons but found a church I can get behind. Two tenants. The first is Absolute Freedom of Religion. The second is Only Do What is Good. Their whole premise is that you already ARE — so why not call yourself what you like. In the case of the ministry they make it legal for you. Having just become a spontaneous healer I believed this to be a very sound position. Still do. The ULC web site is also a huge wonderful resource for all things spiritual. It was there I found an Internet Reiki Certification Course. Other than the (no longer) secret symbols it sounded close enough to what I do to be able to suit my needs. The course was really rich in documentation from everywhere and I could use what I liked of it and either leave the rest or go back to it when needed. The attunements were remote but that didn’t worry me as I was already as attuned as I was going to get. It was a three-month course, very interesting and the attunements were lovely with warm loving energy from Jenna, my teacher on the east coast. I got hands on experience by doing free treatments.

Back in the seventies I was into all things weird but had left it off for Buddhism when I went to England to study the violin. It made the weird things a bit easier to take and while some thought it weird to practice Buddhism, at least I had centuries of history on my side of the argument. I came back to the states in 1984, found that the Buddhism I had happily practiced in England for the last 6 years was an entirely different beast here in the states and gradually left it behind along with all things weird. It had been a long, long time since I’d felt at home. Through my newly found and remembered interests I came back to myself.

Stay tunned for Phase IV

There is No Violin

2 Responses to “*Best Friend Best Teacher Phase III”


  1. …”close enough to what I do to be able to suit my needs” – and what pray tell are they? 🙂 Curious me!

  2. Trish Scott Says:

    Hi Marsha,

    Good to see you here again!

    As for suiting my needs I just thought it would be good to be certified in something. I still say I am a Reiki Master when marketing my energy healing just because it is something many people have heard of and may be able to relate to. I don’t use it as a system because I don’t even believe in systems — see *Healing and garden hoses

    https://scottfree2b.wordpress.com/2007/04/17/healing-and-garden-hoses/

    but it is a good way to get the point of energy healing across to many.


Leave a Reply

