*in and in and in

May 22, 2007

The scent durring and after a storm is so compelling to me that I only want to take in breaths. I can’t get enough of it and just breathe it in and in and in till finally, ready to burst, I do have to take that fraction of a second to expel air so I can start breathing in and in and in all over again. Bliss.

I have a very acute sense of smell and believe me, it is a mixed blessing. In fact I generally think it more a curse than a blessing. I wish I could be less judgemental about scent. Dogs have an acute sense of smell but don’t go around making judgements about each scent that comes along like I do. They explore and learn from each scent they encounter. It is true though that sometimes they come across something so good that they only want the in and in and in breaths.

On the phone last night my son, after telling me of a wonderful stroke of luck that Wonder’s mother had on the job front, told me of the passing of her grandmother. So good news and bad he said. I said, I hate to be the one to tell you this but death is a good thing. He knows that already but since most of us habitually think of death as bad news, we just talk that way.

In breath out breath life death in out in out. Like the scent of a storm, life is so compelling that we just want to keep taking it in without pausing for the out breath. Like the mixed blessing of an acute sense of smell though, we often think life more a curse than a blessing. Still, we want to keep taking it in and in and in. That’s ok. Eventually our bodies will expel the breath for us. We needn’t worry on that count.

In the meantime I would like to be less judgemental about life. Dogs have an acute sense of life but don’t go around making judgements about each experience that comes along. They explore and learn from each moment they encounter. I AM getting better at it, but I still have a lot to learn from dogs.

Leave a Reply

